h1

Mo’ Faux Pasta

July 15, 2010

Sometimes it’s just got to be super simple. While the recipes are fun, fun, fun – I don’t always plan ahead and ingredients don’t get purchased. I had some yellow squash and since I had only used my slicer with zucchini, I thought I’d give it a try. I ended up slicing 1 large yellow squash with the spaghetti shaped cutter.

I put chopped black olives, marinated sun-dried tomatoes and garlic in a sauté pan with some of the flavored oil from the jar of tomatoes. I added some oregano, Italian seasoning, fresh basil, salt and ground pepper.

I am not kidding when I say, “I could eat this every night!” – no joke. I’d have the most boring blog on the Internet, but a heaping bowl or plate of this actually tricks my brain into believing I’m eating a huge portion of pasta – yet I don’t get the bloated feeling pasta gives me.

I used the same sun-dried tomatoes and garlic combo to whip up a shrimp dish a few nights back.

I swear, if the slicer was sold on HSN, I would be the caller ordering up one for every friend I have – I’m loving it THAT much – best gift ever Mom and Dad.

Sure, a good pasta craving would send me to the nearest Italian restaurant… but quick mid-week meals of mostly veggies are a much healthier option.

I still want to try a terriyaki stir fry with my faux noodles, that might be next on the list!

10 comments

  1. Alright, so you have me hooked now. I so need to get one of these slicer/spaghetti attachment thingie-ma-bobs. Is it true, it’s only like 30 bucks??! I followed the link on your previous post and Amazon said the slicer was only like 30 dollars. I’m amazed at that price. Anyway, quick question, do you boil the squash/zucchini for a certain time prior to throwing your dish together? These “pasta” dishes look so good, Kath.


    • Yep Aim – super cheap for what you get. The possibilities seem endless. I only cook the squash in the sauté pan with the garlic or I eat it raw.


  2. Wow your recipes just keep getting better and better! I must have missed the link for the slicer but I am going to look because I think I need/want one!


    • Yes Melissa – you definitely NEED one, hah! I seriously think it has changed my veggie eating life. I feel so fancy now, LOL.


  3. I’m with Amy… I’m going to Bed Bath and Beyond this weekend and getting one pronto!


    • Do it! Can’t wait to see combos people come up with.


  4. I think I’ll be purchasnig one of these within the week. 🙂


    • I know you will be coming up with great ideas!


  5. I have a cusinar slicer that I haven’t used for years… just rediscovered it after remodeling the kitchen. I will have to check and see if it has a spaghetti style slicer. You are encouraging me to try some new recipes using vegetables I am growing in my garden. Yum


    • That would be cool if yours could do the spaghetti cut, what a fun re-discovery – cleaning out cabinets is always nice when you find treasures you forgot you had.



Comments are closed.

