h1

Canadian Bacon, Spinach and Egg Cups

June 27, 2010

I finally hit Trader Joe’s to stock up on some recipe supplies. It’s been a little lean in the fridge and pantry.  I’ve been wanting to make Canadian Bacon, Spinach and Egg Cups for a few weeks now. It’s the perfect breakfast, especially on a weekend. I got up at 5:30 AM this morning to start working in the yard. It’s supposed to be 100 degrees today, so I didn’t want to get over heated by waiting until later in the day. I’ve only been up for 4 hours and I’m already exhausted. The yard is really shaping up, so it was worth getting up early. There is still furniture to be cleaned, plants to be planted, a few more weeds to be pulled and chair cushions to be put out. All of this is in preparation for our 4th of July party.

I worked up quite the appetite and I had protein on my mind. So yes, crazy blogging girl decided to bust out a recipe and blog post to relax.

The Ingredients:

1 Cup Frozen Spinach
6 pieces of Round Canadian Bacon
1/2 Cup Egg Whites
1/2 Small Chopped Shalott
1/4 Cup Shredded Gruyère Cheese
Splash of Olive Oil
Few Shakes of Smoked Paprika
Salt and Ground Pepper to Taste

Preheat Oven to 375 degrees

I sautéed the spinach in a little olive oil with the shallots, salt and pepper.

I formed my Canadian bacon cups in a non-stick muffin pan and then added about 1 heaping tablespoon of the spinach and onion mixture to each cup.

I whisked the egg whites with a little ground pepper and smoked paprika and then poured them to the edge of the Canadian bacon. I placed the muffin pan in the 375 degree oven for 12 minutes. The egg whites were almost done cooking. I added the shredded Gruyère cheese to the tops and put them back in the oven for 2 more minutes.  I used a kitchen knife to loosen the edges of the Canadian bacon and I popped them onto a plate. Super easy and really tasty!

My break is over – back to tackle the remaining yard projects. Hope everyone is having a fabulous weekend.

13 comments

  1. The cups look fantastic! Makes me hungry and I sure as heck didn’t get up that early to do my yard. Good thinking though……better to beat the heat that way than to experience a heat stroke because you are stubborn or driven to get the job done.

    Hugs and don’t work too hard………..Mommers


    • These would be super easy to make for one of our family holiday brunch celebrations.


  2. First time commenter on your food blog… Those look so good and I don’t even like eggs all that much!


    • Hi Lori! The egg whites and cheese combo almost make them taste like cheese and spinach – not egg”y” at all.


  3. You continue to amaze me with your talents and energy. Now I am hungry again. Super good looking breakfast ideas. Love to you…. Lisa


    • Thanks Lisa – I’ll have to come up with some tasty treats for the garage sale weekend 😉


  4. Love this recipe…looks super easy to make and I think the boys would like them too!


    • Super easy and really good! I think the boys would have fun making them with you too!


  5. I will be making those next weekend! 🙂


    • Nice! – Not sure why I never made them with egg whites during my time doing South beach…they were much lighter and the cheese made a huge difference in taste.


      • Yeah, this has SB written all over it! I wonder if you could use a piece of deli ham, sliced a little thicker like the canadian bacon, so that it would hold more??? A little dijon might be good in it too, but you had me at gruyere!!!! 🙂


  6. What a fantastic brunch idea! I’m bookmarking them!


  7. Definitely trying these – I usually hate breakfast in the mornings…wondering if I could make these ahead of time for the week and heat in the microwave in the mornings.



Comments are closed.

