h1

Still kickin’…

June 13, 2010

I know it’s been a while since I posted. In all honesty, I haven’t had a full meal since Thursday, June 3rd – crazy! I’ve pretty much been eating very small portions of the soup/rice/cracker combo and lots of bread in the form of dry toast, plain rolls, sliced baguette. The only veggies have been mushed carrots in chicken noodle soup last week – you know you’re jealous!

I’m waiting on blood test results and a CT scan with contrast dye. I was also put on a super strong antibiotic for infection. One test showed some signs of an infection. I think that has helped with the stomach pains too. It’s really sort of been a nightmare, especially since my 40th birthday fell right in the middle of all of this.

Dan pressed on with our tradition. He always bakes me a cake. We go to the store together, I pick my flavors and he goes to work in the kitchen. I look forward to this every year. Last year it was a giant cupcake. This year it was a full on girlie 40th cake. Butter yellow with chocolate frosting.

I would like to take this time to say, “I have the most amazing husband ever!” – He has been awesome throughout this whole health mystery. I could not ask for a more supportive partner. My family and friends have been really great too! Thank you, thank you, thank you.

My girlfriend Hilly came over to cheer me up on my birthday. We had a great time – lots of laughs like usual.  I even tried a little pasta and some of my cake, which turned out to be a HORRIBLE idea. I just wanted to be and feel normal on my birthday – my body had different ideas. I was awake for hours and hours with stomach pains and spent the next day in bed. Ugh!

They are looking at my kidneys, liver, pancreas, gallbladder and everything else they can think of. The doctor thinks it could also just be an intestinal infection – I am noticing a big difference with the meds.

I had big plans to celebrate turning 40, and in all honesty, it was just another day. Kind of sad – but you know what? I’ll be 40 all year. There will be plenty of time to have people over for a dinner party to celebrate… when I can actually enjoy the food!

Cheers to my 40th year – may it be filled with health, happiness and lots of fun times – hoping the health one happens soon!

18 comments

  1. And we will always be here for you!

    I would love a copy of the birthday picture with the cake………too cute.

    Love you kiddo……Mommers


    • Done! Love you too Mommers!


  2. I am sorry you are still so sick. Fingers crossed they figure it out and remedy it fast. Sending you good vibes. I definitely think a party when you are up and at ‘Em is in order.

    That cake is amazing!


    • Thank you Sizz… Definitely, a belated birthday celebration is in the works!


  3. Happy 40th. I hope you feel better soon and can celebrate in style.


    • Thanks MB…starting to feel a little better already.


  4. Honey – I’m so sorry you are feeling so sick. I hope they figure out what the heck is up and you find some relief soon. My 40th was rather anti-climatic as well, so I can completely sympathize. I just hope you know you are loved ther other 364 days of the year so just pick a day when you are feeling well and celebrate again.

    And your husband is amazing – I can’t believe he made that gorgeous cake!


    • Me too… Good to know others had “meh” 40th birthdays…so true, can celebrate with friends later this month.


  5. Happy Belated Birthday!! I hope you are back to feeling normal and well again soon!!


    • Thanks Theresa!


  6. Happy 40th birthday! So sorry to hear that you’re not feeling well – I hope the doctors get to the bottom of whatever’s ailing you soon.


    • Hoping to get test results soon! Thanks for the b-day wishes.


  7. You don’t look a day over 30 my friend.


    • Awe, Thanks John!


  8. Hi Kathy! Happy belated birthday and you do look fantastic for a 40 years old. Life is awesome at 40! Hope they find what it is for you soon. Being sick isn’t no fun! Hugs!
    Cheryl


  9. Happy belated Birthday Foo!!!


  10. Happy 40th!!! Hope you feel better soon!

    On a side note, have you been tested for H. Pylori virus? I had this before Christmas and thought my stomach was going to explode. Here is a link to the mayo clinic in case this hasn’t been checked for:
    http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/h-pylori/DS00958/DSECTION=symptoms


    • Thanks Susi – I’ll check it out.



Comments are closed.